Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Founded in 1885, Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, recognizes those who have conferred honor upon their alma mater by distinguished scholarship and exemplary character as undergraduates in engineering, or by their attainments as alumni in the field of engineering, and fosters a spirit of liberal culture in engineering colleges.

(Note: Marquis Scholars, selected from among Lafayette’s most-promising applicants, receive a special financial-aid award and other important benefits.)

Members of the Class of 1999 elected this year:

Efe B. Arkayin (mechanical engineering), Istanbul, Turkey

Weng Fang Cao (chemical engineering), Westerly, R.I. (Marquis Scholar)

Jeffrey M. Di Stasi (civil and environmental engineering), Schenectady, N.Y. (Marquis Scholar)

Christopher A. Fullenwider (chemical engineering), Whitehall, Pa.

Yoek Nam Khor (electrical engineering), Penang, Malaysia

Lucy W. Kuria (electrical engineering), Nairobi, Kenya

Rajesh R. Nadakuditi (electrical engineering), Maharashtra, India

Karen B. Schoch (mechanical engineering), Carle Place, N.Y.

Kelly L. Strickler (civil and environmental engineering), Dallastown, Pa.

Members of the Class of 1999 elected last year:

Brett T. Atkinson (mechanical engineering), Norfolk, Mass. (Marquis Scholar)

Karen L. Berrier (mechanical engineering), Mount Laurel, N.J. (Marquis Scholar)

Larissa N. Dodson (chemical engineering), Sellersville, Pa.

Mary K. Edwards (chemical engineering), Chester, N.J.

Jennifer R. Mackey (civil and environmental engineering), Clifton Park, N.Y. (Marquis Scholar)

Michael C. Steeber (mechanical engineering), Belle Vernon, Pa.

Yang Teng (chemical engineering), Harbin, China

Renaldo A. Trancoso (mechanical engineering), Brooklyn, N.Y.

Members of the Class of 2000 elected this year:

Jeremy M. Brodney (civil and environmental engineering), Lincoln, Mass.

Stephen E. Dorsch (chemical engineering), Baltimore, Md. (Marquis Scholar)

Brian P. Guzas (civil and environmental engineering), Westford, Mass.

Keri R. McCarraher (chemical engineering), Boyertown, Pa. (Marquis Scholar)

Peshala V. Pahalawatta (electrical engineering), Peradeniya, Sri Lanka

Rachel E. Pilling (five-year, two-degree program in International Studies and engineering), Deer Isle, Maine (Marquis Scholar)

John J. Reap (mechanical engineering), Shavertown, Pa. (Marquis Scholar)

Ian A. Rippke (electrical engineering), East Petersburg, Pa. (Marquis Scholar)

Categorized in: Academic News