Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Lafayette College students honored individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to the community and the College at the ninth annual Aaron O. Hoff Awards ceremony May 2.

The students cited Easton's Shiloh Baptist Church for actively supporting and enhancing student life at Lafayette. Individuals honored for exceptional community service were Konstantinos Yiannopoulos, a senior from Short Hills, N.J., who received the Class of 1997 Community Service Award, and Justine Kosmoski, a first-year student from Clark, N.J., who was named Volunteer of the Year.

Sponsored by the Office of Student Activities, the Aaron O. Hoff Awards are named in honor of one of Lafayette's first students, who blew the horn that summoned Lafayette's first 43 students and three teachers to class in 1832. A member of the Class of 1836, Hoff was the first African American student to attend the college.

Among the highest honors are the People's Choice Awards and the Unsung Hero Awards. Winners of People's Choice Awards, given to those “known on campus as being unusually productive and concerned for the betterment of the College and its students,” were Pam Perez, a senior from Scotia, N.Y.; John Kelly, assistant dean of students and director of multicultural affairs; and Career Services.

JoAnna Willis, a senior from Upper Marlboro, Md., and Renaldo Trancoso, a senior from Brooklyn, N.Y., received Unsung Hero Awards, given to those “who have worked without concern for personal reward, have been loyal and dedicated and have not been recognized in their efforts.”

The Administrators' Award, given to a student who has “demonstrated sincere concern for the College community and unselfishly taken constructive measures to assist the administration in bettering Lafayette,” went to Lori Chen, a senior from Berkeley Heights, N.J.

Service Above Self Awards, presented to those “who best exemplify the qualities of caring and concern for others in service activities,” were given to Shayne Figueroa, a senior from Charleston, S.C., and Leah Parker-Moldover of the Office of Student Residence.

The Leopard Leader Award went to a student who has held a variety of leadership positions, Kevin Murphy, a senior from Staten Island, N.Y.

Several academic and social organizations were honored. The Forensics Society was named Academic Group of the Year. Hillel was named Outstanding Cultural or Religious Group. The Brothers of Lafayette was honored as Outstanding Service or Communications Organization. Phi Gamma Delta was named the Outstanding Living Group. The Crew Club was named Athletic/Recreational Club of the Year. The Ice Hockey Club was named Most Improved Organization.

Named Outstanding Programs of the Year were Basket Bingo and the Summit on Manhood. Basket Bingo, sponsored by Lafayette's six sororities, raised $2,000 for breast cancer research. The inaugural Summit on Manhood, sponsored by the Brothers of Lafayette and the office of multicultural affairs, celebrated the achievements of black men and examined the challenges facing them.

Gina Benaquista, a junior from Monroe Township, N.J., was Resident Advisor of the Year.

Faculty members receiving Student Government Superior Teaching Awards were Robert I. Weiner, professor of history, and John S. Shaw, assistant professor of psychology.

Herman C. Kissiah, dean of students, was named Administrator of the Year. Ellen Leslie, a secretary in the department of geology and environmental geosciences who advises the Ice Hockey Club, and Margarete Lamb-Faffelberger, an associate professor of foreign languages and literatures who is adviser of the International Students Association, were named Organization Advisers of the Year. Kelly Deemer of the Office of Student Activities and Cindy Wyker of Lafayette Dining Services, The Wood Company, are the Staff Members of the Year.

Kara Sterner, a senior from Downingtown, Pa., chaired the Hoff Awards Committee. Members of the committee were Denise Clarke, a senior from North Bergen, N.J.; Kate Deegan, a junior from Philadelphia, Pa.; Wendy Erdly, a senior from Turbotville, Pa.; Justin Kidwell, a junior from Baltimore, Md.; M.J. McGoldrick, a junior from Flourtown, Pa.; Jon McMeen, a senior from Mountain Lakes, N.J.; and Ugur Tigli, a senior from Ankara, Turkey.

Categorized in: News and Features