Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Outstanding professors and other members of the Lafayette College community were honored for distinguished teaching, scholarly research, and service to the College Friday night (May 21) at Lafayette’s annual trustee-faculty dinner in Marquis Hall.

Arthur J. Rothkopf, College president; Lawerence J. Ramer, chair of the board of trustees; and June Schlueter, provost and Charles A. Dana Professor of English, presented the awards and citations.

Three retiring faculty members, Jean-Pierre Cap, the Oliver Edwin Williams Professor of Foreign Languages and Literatures; William A. Jeffers Jr., professor of physics; and Terence J. McGhee, the Charles A. Dana Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, were honored with certificates and gifts. Also honored was Gerald E. Colver, longtime manager of the College store, who is retiring as assistant to the vice president for auxiliary services.

The evening featured the awarding of prizes to faculty in recognition of exceptional teaching, scholarship and service. The prizes are funded through designated gifts to the endowment.

Marquis Distinguished Teaching Awards for distinctive and extraordinary teaching went to Rose Marie L. Bukics, professor of economics and business; Shyamal K. Majumdar, Marshall R. Metzgar Professor of Biology and department head; Arnold Offner, Cornelia F. Hugel Professor of History and department head; and Leonard A. Van Gulick, Matthew Baird Professor of Mechanical Engineering and department head. An endowed fund established by Lafayette trustee Walter Scott and his wife Kate, of Bermuda, provides for four annual awards of $5,000 each, $2,500 awarded directly to the recipient, and $2,500 for professional development.

Recipients of Student Government Superior Teaching Awards were Robert I. Weiner, professor of history, and John S. Shaw, assistant professor of psychology.

Diane Cole Ahl, Charles A. Dana Professor of Art History, received the Mary Louise Van Artsdalen Prize for outstanding scholarly achievement. This $2,500 prize was established by Dr. Ervin R. Van Artsdalen, a 1935 graduate of Lafayette, in memory of his wife.

Curlee Raven Holton, associate professor of art, was the recipient of the $1,000 Carl R. and Ingeborg Beidleman Research Award recognizing excellence in applied research or scholarship. The prize was established by Carl R. Beidleman, a member of Lafayette’s Class of 1954 and a professor emeritus of finance at Lehigh University, and his wife, Ingeborg.

Mary S. J. Roth, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering, received the James P. Crawford Award of $500, with an additional $500 going to his department to be used for the enhancement of teaching. Established by Jonathan Bernon, a 1984 Lafayette graduate from Woodbury, Conn., the prize rewards a faculty member who has demonstrated a high standard of classroom instruction. The award honors James P. Crawford, who has taught in the department of mathematics since 1957.

Suzanne R. Westfall, associate professor of English, received the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation Award for excellence in teaching and outstanding contributions to campus life. Of the $3,000 award, $2,000 goes to the recipient and $1,000 goes to her department to be used for the advancement of teaching.

Roxanne Lalande, associate professor of foreign languages and literatures and department head, received the $2,000 Thomas Roy and Lura Forrest Jones Award for superior teaching and scholarly contribution to her discipline.

Margarete Lamb-Faffelberger, associate professor of foreign languages and literatures, and John E. Meier, assistant professor of mathematics, received Thomas Roy and Lura Forrest Jones Faculty Lecture Awards in recognition of excellence in teaching and scholarship. Each will receive a prize of $1,000 and will deliver a featured lecture during the 1999-00 academic year.

Also recognized were this year’s Jones Faculty Lecturers, Matthew S. McGlone, assistant professor of psychology, and Laura D. Walls, associate professor of English.

Rose Marie L. Bukics, professor of economics and business, received the Daniel F. Golden, Class of 1934, Faculty Service Award and a $500 prize. The award recognizes distinguished service to the College through the Alumni Association and alumni activities.

Five faculty members received Joseph Johnson Hardy Memorial Fund Awards. The award was established in 1923 by Harry S. Gay of the Class of 1882 in memory of Professor Hardy, who taught mathematics and astronomy at Lafayette from 1870 to 1915. The income from this fund is divided annually among the five members of the faculty who have achieved the longest continuous service to the College.

Honored were James P. Crawford, professor of mathematics, who joined the Lafayette faculty in 1957; Joseph A. Sherma, the John D. and Frances H. Larkin Professor of Chemistry (1958); John P. Losee Jr., the James Renwick Hogg Professor of Philosophy (1961); James P. Schwar, professor of computer science (1962), and Bernard Fried, the Gideon R., Jr., and Alice L. Kreider Professor of Biology (1963).

Five faculty members were honored for 25 years of service to the College. They were Susan Blake, professor of English; Guy L. Hovis, John Markle Professor of Geology and Environmental Sciences and department head; David R. Johnson, professor of English and acting chair of the American Studies program; Howard J. Marblestone, associate professor of foreign languages and literatures; and Ilan Peleg, Charles A. Dana Professor of Government and Law.

Categorized in: Academic News