Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Lafayette College will honor more than 135 outstanding students at its annual All-College Honors Convocation at 1:30 p.m. Sunday, April 30, at the Williams Center for the Arts.

The event is free and open to the public. A reception will follow.

Lafayette will present awards to about 90 students who have attained outstanding academic success in the liberal arts, sciences, computer science, and engineering. Also recognized will be 47 students who have been invited this spring to become members of Phi Beta Kappa. Founded in 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society, the oldest and most respected undergraduate honors organization in the United States, fosters and recognizes excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.

  • Prizes and Awards in the Humanities
  • Prizes and Awards in the Social Sciences
  • Prizes and Awards in the Natural Sciences
  • Prizes and Awards in Engineering
  • Special Prizes and Awards

June Sprigg Tooley, a noted authority on American Shaker culture and design and a member of Lafayette’s Class of 1974, will be keynote speaker. The author of ten books, she has lectured internationally and curated exhibits in the United States and Japan. The recipient of the Eugene P. Chase Phi Beta Kappa Prize as a first-year student, she graduated summa cum laude from Lafayette with an A.B. degree in art and holds a master’s in early American culture from the University of Delaware. A Lafayette trustee from 1975-80, she was awarded an honorary Doctor of Letters by Lafayette in 1981 when she gave the commencement address.

Also speaking will be Lafayette President Arthur J. Rothkopf ’55; Ismail Jouny, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering and chair of the faculty committee on academic progress; and June Schlueter, provost and Dana Professor of English.

Prizes will be awarded by Ida Sinkevic, assistant professor of art and chair of the faculty subcommittee on honors convocation, and Christopher W. Gray, dean of studies.

Categorized in: Academic News