Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Nominations are due Tuesday, April 17 for the Aaron O. Hoff Awards, which honor students, faculty, staff, administrators, and community members who have made outstanding contributions to the community and Lafayette College.

Sponsored by the Office of Student Activities, the Aaron O. Hoff Awards are named in honor of one of Lafayette’s first students, who blew the horn that summoned Lafayette’s first 43 students and three teachers to class in 1832. A member of the Class of 1836, Hoff was the first African American student to attend the college.

Nominations require a written summary of one page or less explaining why the nominee is worthy of one or more of the specific awards. They must be completed by noon Tuesday and sent to Vilas Menon, Hoff Awards Committee Chair, at Box 9486 or, or to the Office of Student Activities, 115 Farinon Center. For more information, call Menon at 610-330-4880 or the Office of Student Activities at 610-330-5337.

The awards ceremony will be held at 8 p.m. Sunday, April 29 in the Farinon Center Marlo Room.

Award categories and their descriptions include: Community Appreciation Award — community member or organization that has actively supported and enhanced student life at Lafayette; Volunteer of the Year and the Class of 1997 Community Service Award — students honored for exceptional community service; People’s Choice Awards — those “known on campus as being unusually productive and concerned for the betterment of the college and its students;” Unsung Hero Awards — those “who have worked without concern for personal reward, have been loyal and dedicated and have not been recognized in their efforts;” The Administrators’ Award — a student who has “demonstrated sincere concern for the college community and unselfishly taken constructive measures to assist the administration in bettering Lafayette;” Service Above Self Award — those “who best exemplify the qualities of caring and concern for others in service activities;” and the Leopard Leader Award, a student who has held a variety of leadership positions.

Student organization categories include Academic Group of the Year, Outstanding Cultural or Religious Group, Outstanding Service or Communications Organization, Outstanding Living Group, Athletic/Recreational Club of the Year, and Most Improved Organization. Other student categories include Outstanding Program of the Year, Returning Resident Advisor of the Year, and Rookie Resident Advisor of the Year.

Faculty members can be nominated for Student Government Superior Teaching Awards, and one administrator is named Administrator of the Year. Other awards include Organization Adviser of the Year and Staff Members of the Year.

Categorized in: News and Features