Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Lafayette students will receive the prizes and awards listed below at the 2001 All-College Honors Convocation at 1:30 p.m., Sunday, April 29, at the Williams Center for the Arts.

(Note: Marquis Scholars and Trustee Scholars, selected from among Lafayette’s most-promising applicants, receive a special financial-aid award and other important benefits. EXCEL Scholars do collaborative research with faculty and earn a stipend.)

Military Science

Leopard Medal. Awarded to the first-year cadet who contributes the most to the advancement of Army ROTC at Lafayette College. The cadet must be academically in the top 10 percent of his/her ROTC class and the top 25 percent of his/her academic class. The award is made possible through the generous contributions of Harry M. Jones ’66, Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Army (Ret.). Laura M. Ferraro ’04, Mount Kisco, N.Y.

College President’s Award. Awarded annually to the outstanding cadets from each class in terms of overall achievement measured by scholastic excellence, leadership, military performance, and extracurricular involvement.
Sarah A. Glacel ’01, Oak Hill, Va. (Marquis Scholar and EXCEL Scholar)
Shanna M. Stann’02, Coudersport, Pa.
Theodore C. DeMaria ’04, Allentown, N.J.

Special Awards

Alpha Sigma Lambda. Awarded to recognize the special achievements of adults who accomplish academic excellence while facing competing interests of home and work. Clayton D. Souders, Allentown, Pa.

James F. Bryant ’40 Excellence Award. Awarded to a junior student who meets standards of excellence, as did James F. Bryant, by demonstrating high academic achievement, lettering in at least one varsity sport, and showing noticeable and noteworthy evidence of community service.
Kenya T. Allen ’02, Virginia Beach, Va.
Asoka S. Ratnayake ’02, Valparaiso, Ind.

Eugene P. Chase Phi Beta Kappa Prize. Awarded to a sophomore who has demonstrated scholarship as a first-year student.
Mark P. Kolba ’03, Chelmsford, Mass. (Marquis Scholar)
Rebecca J. Moreland ’03, Fairfield, Pa. (Marquis Scholar)
Christina A. Stenman ’03, Windsor, Conn. (Marquis Scholar)
Guangxi Wang ’03, Shanghai, China (EXCEL Scholar)
Ashley M. Wesmiller ’03, Pittsburg, Pa. (Marquis Scholar)
Matthew A. Zawada ’03, Mountaintop, Pa. (Marquis Scholar)

Lafayette Alumni of the Lehigh Valley Scholarship Award. Awarded annually to a senior residing in the greater Lehigh Valley who demonstrates outstanding academic achievement.
Daniel R. Arnold ’01, Emmaus, Pa. (EXCEL Scholar)
Kelly A. Gabos ’01, Phillipsburg, N.J. (EXCEL Scholar)
Kathy A. Gelato ’01, Ocean View, Del. (Marquis Scholar and EXCEL Scholar)
Shannon K. Tyburczy ’01, Nazareth, Pa.

General The Marquis de Lafayette Essay Prize. Awarded annually for the essay on the Marquis de Lafayette that best epitomizes those qualities that earned him the title of “Hero of Two Worlds” as a soldier-statesman and humanitarian. Katarena M. Arger ’02, Reno, Nev.

David A. Portlock Study Abroad Memorial Prize. Awarded annually to an outstanding student who will benefit most from studying abroad. Michael J. Avicolli ’03, New Britain, Conn.

Paul Tully Memorial Prize. Presented to the student who best exemplifies the progressive principles of social and political service-democratic ideals to which Paul Tully devoted his life.
Jennifer H. Gibbs ’02, Chatham, Mass.
Deborah N. Rhebergen ’03, Hopewell, N.J. (EXCEL Scholar)

Categorized in: Academic News