Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Lafayette will honor more than 150 students for academic excellence at the annual All-College Honors Convocation at 1:30 p.m. Sunday, April 29, at the Williams Center for the Arts.

The event is free and open to the public. A reception will follow.

Lafayette will present awards to more than 100 students who have attained outstanding academic success. Also recognized will be 59 students invited this spring to become members of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most respected undergraduate honors organization, which fosters and recognizes excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.

Prizes and Awards in the Humanities
Prizes and Awards in the Social Sciences
Prizes and Awards in the Natural Sciences
Prizes and Awards in Engineering
Special Prizes and Awards

The keynote speaker will be Leroy D. Nunery, vice president for business services of the University of Pennsylvania and a member of Lafayette’s Class of 1977. Also speaking will be Lafayette President Arthur J. Rothkopf ’55; Ismail I. Jouny, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering and chair of the Faculty Academic Progress Committee; and June Schlueter, provost and Dana Professor of English.

Prizes will be awarded by Wendy L. Hill, professor of psychology, chair of neuroscience, and chair of the Faculty Subcommittee on Honors Convocation, and Christopher W. Gray, dean of studies.

Prior to joining Penn Nunery was vice president for human resources and vice president for business development for the National Basketball Association. He also served as a managing director for NationsBanc Montgomery Securities LLC, a global corporate investment bank. Nunery graduated from Lafayette with honors in history and was president of the Association of Black Collegians and a resident adviser. A member of Lafayette’s Board of Trustees from 1987-98, he initiated the Leroy D. Nunery ’77 Intellectual Citizenship Award, presented each year at the Multicultural Awards and Diversity Recognition Reception. He holds an M.B.A. from Washington University in Saint Louis.

Categorized in: Academic News