Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Students honored individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to Lafayette and the community at the 11th annual Aaron O. Hoff Awards ceremony April 30.

Sponsored by the Office of Student Activities, the Aaron O. Hoff Awards are named in honor of one of Lafayette’s first students, who blew the horn that summoned Lafayette’s first 43 students and three teachers to class in 1832. A member of the Class of 1836, Hoff was the first African American student to attend the college.

Among the highest honors are the People’s Choice and Unsung Hero Awards. Winners of People’s Choice Awards, given to those “known on campus as being unusually productive and concerned for the betterment of the college and its students,” were Jon Dinowitz, a senior from Medford, N.Y., Patricia Lorenz, visitation coordinator for the admissions department, and Matt Julin, a senior from Danville, Ca.

Steve Chiger, a senior from Westfield, N.J., and Gary Miller, college chaplain, received Unsung Hero Awards, given to those “who have worked without concern for personal reward, have been loyal and dedicated, and have not been recognized in their efforts.”

Students honored for exceptional community service were Megan Greevy, a senior from Williamsport, Pa., who received the Class of 1997 Community Service Award, and Leslie Saint, a first-year student from Dunellen, N.J., who was named Volunteer of the Year.

The Administrators’ Award, given to a student who has “demonstrated sincere concern for the college community and unselfishly taken constructive measures to assist the administration in bettering Lafayette,” went to Katie Wyckoff, a senior from Princeton, N.J.

The Service Above Self Award, presented to those “who best exemplify the qualities of caring and concern for others in service activities,” was given to Kathleen Houser, an intern in the Landis Community Outreach Center, and Sandy Doyle, a senior from Springfield, Pa. The Leopard Leader Award went to a Shannon Smith, a senior from Port Jefferson Sta., N.Y.

Several academic and social organizations were honored. The campus chapter of the American Chemical Society was named Academic Group of the Year. The Newman Association won the award as Outstanding Cultural or Religious Group. The Lafayette was honored as Outstanding Service or Communications organization. Phi Kappa Psi Fraternity and The Lafayette Communications Union shared the award for Outstanding Living Group. The Ice Hockey Club was named Athletic/Recreational Club of the Year.

National Hunger & Homelessness Awareness Week was named Outstanding Program of the Year. Over $1,000 was raised through a student fast, in addition to food donations.

Leslie Kilpatrick, a senior from McLean, Va., was named Returning Resident Advisor of the Year, and Meghan Masto, a sophomore from Hatfield, Pa., was named Rookie RA of the Year.

Faculty members receiving Student Government Superior Teaching Awards were Howard G. Schneiderman, professor and head of anthropology and sociology, and William A. Best, visiting part-time instructor for the Technology Clinic.

Jodie Frey, assistant dean of students and director of recreation services, was named Administrator of the Year.

Ken Briggs, visiting part-time instructor in English and religion, who advises The Lafayette, and Lisa Kidd, assistant director of student activities, who advises the Lafayette Activities Forum, were both named Organization Adviser of the Year.

Tom DeFazio, Henry Fleck, Harry Folk, Andy Langoussis, and Richard Reeman, all of the engineering department machine shop staff, are the Staff Members of the Year.

Liz McMahon, professor of mathematics, and Julin served as masters of ceremonies. Vilas Menon ’02 was chair of the Hoff Awards Committee.

Categorized in: News and Features