Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

A number of incredible saves by goalie John Sullivan ’04 led the Phi Kappa Question Marks to the intramural soccer championship at Newlins Road Fields last week, beating a previously undefeated Kappa Delta Rho squad, 2-0. A team of independents won the women’s soccer tournament, 3-1, over the International Students Association.

Delta Upsilon and Tri-Delta won the men’s and women’s darts events, respectively, held Oct. 29-30 on the third floor of Kirby Sports Center.

As of last Friday, Tri-Delta remained on top of the men’s intramural standings (see below) with 437 points, followed by Alpha Gamma Delta with 280 points and Alpha Phi with 178. Theta Chi kept its first-place position with 363 points, with ISA in second (344) and Phi Psi in third (331).

Sullivan was named MVP of the soccer tournament. His teammates were Dan Huber ’02, Adam Willitsford ’02, Jon Harder ’02, Dave Woodruff ’02, Evan Adler ’02, Justin Kruger ’04, and Matt Tomik ’03. The BUM Squad finished in third place and Chi Phi took third.

The independent women’s soccer team was comprised of Sarah Afarian ’02, Stephanie Spence ’02, Megan Dolan ’02, Christina Gotwols ’04, Meredith Qualshie ’03, Cheryl Christianson ’03, Melissa Grandis ’04, and Tana Zerr ’02.

Dave Goff ’02 defeated Jeff Palen ’02 of Theta Chi, two games to one, to take the men’s darts title. Jamie Willett ’03 of DU finished third and Pete Vitiello ’02 of Theta Chi was in fourth place.

Tri Delta’s Thea Fry ’03 won darts by a 2-1 score as well, defeating sorority sister Keri Allan ’02. Crystalann Harbold ’02 of Alpha Gamma Delta took third place.

As of Nov. 2, the point totals in the battle for the McGaughey Trophy were as follows:

Women’s Division
Tri-Delta 437
AGD 280
Alpha Phi 178
ISA 106
Pi Phi 100
DG 55
Kappa 40
Soles 25
Watson 25

Men’s Division
Theta Chi 363
ISA 344
Phi Psi 331
FIJI 295
Chi Phi 213
BUM Squad 188
Lambda Lambda 128
PT Farinon 116
Showtime 104
Zeta Psi 98
KDR 93
Gates 90
Phi Kappa 89
Easton 68
DU 64
Watson 45
Farber 25
Conway 25
Keefe 20
DKE 15

Categorized in: Students