Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

The Field Hockey Club has grown to 28 members in its second year as a student group.

The club was founded last fall by current seniors Erin Vanacore and Melissa Fiorelli. It competes against fellow college club teams in the northern division of the National Field Hockey League.

“In the year the club has been in existence, we have grown considerably, gaining many new freshmen members this year,” says Carolyn Candrea ’03, club president. “…We have both veteran players and members who have no previous experience. We are excited to continue playing together to build our skill level as a team and become a competitive force within the National Field Hockey League.”

The team played seven games this season, winning its Sept. 23 opener against St. Joseph’s before falling to difficult opponents in its remaining schedule: Rutgers University and University of Pennsylvania, Sept. 29; College of New Jersey, Oct. 14; University of Delaware, Oct. 14; and Salisbury State and Georgetown University, Oct. 20.

Players will keep their skills sharp this winter on the indoor rink in Kirby Sports Center. The spring season begins in late March and will include a second entry into the National Field Hockey League’s annual tournament

In addition to practice and competition, the club holds social events such as team dinners, a bagel breakfast before the Homecoming game, a scavenger hunt, and a party at the end of the year. At Family Weekend, the club provided food for post-game tailgating with parents.

The team is sell candygrams next week as a fundraiser.

In addition to Candrea, Vanacore, and Fiorelli, the Field Hockey Club roster includes Gabriella Engelhart, Sandra Goldman, Joelle Sobin, Danya Ellman, Lindsay DiBiase, Vanessa Greaves, Emily Warshauer, Liz Litchfield, Emily Groves, Stephanie Shelton, Amy Arnold, Dayna DeSimone, Joy Krueger, Lauren Schwartz, Anita Muduli, Lori Astheimer, Maureen Weissmueller, Kim Whelan, Erin McKan, Kaye Powell, Heather Wood, Katie O’Connell, Johanna Turley, Melissa Zine, Megan Loeffler, and Denel Kopf.

Categorized in: Students