Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Lafayette will hold its 17th annual Minority Awards and Multicultural Banquet 6-8 p.m. Saturday, April 20, in the Marlo Room of Farinon College Center.

The event is sponsored by the Office of the Dean of Studies.

Students will receive various awards honoring leadership, voluntarism, and academic achievement. They include awards for an outstanding scholar, achiever in academic improvement, inspiring leader, volunteer, and student organization, as well as the David A. Portlock Award, the Chakrabarti Foundation Scholarship Award, and the Leroy D. Nunery ’77 Award for Intellectual Citizenship.

The event also recognizes faculty and staff who have consistently demonstrated multiculturalism and demonstrated concern for, and sensitivity to, the needs of students of color and international students. This sensitivity may be manifested by including multiculturalism in the classroom, making substantial efforts to meet the needs of individuals of diverse backgrounds, and/or being involved in other endeavors that significantly contributed to the diversity efforts at Lafayette.

Nominations are due Friday, April 5, in 1 Markle Hall, where forms are available. They should include the name and email address of the nominator, and the nominee’s name, class year, three outstanding characteristics, and specific examples of why the person is deserving of the award.

Categorized in: Students