Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Lafayette College students received the prizes and awards listed below at the 1999 All-College Honors Convocation.

(Note: Marquis Scholars, selected from among the College’s most-promising applicants, receive a special financial-aid award and other important benefits. EXCEL Scholars do collaborative research with faculty and earn a stipend.)


PAUL BERNON MEMORIAL PRIZE IN SOCIOLOGY. Awarded each year by the faculty in the Department of Anthropology and Sociology to the graduating senior most outstanding in sociology.

Mark T. Tergesen ’99, Rye, N.Y.


JOHN H. ALLEN PRIZE. Awarded to the author of the best essay in public finance, as judged by a committee within the Department of Economics and Business.

Steven T. Mathe ’00, Hasbrouck Heights, N.J. (Marquis Scholar)

Christie M. Flamm ’01, Philadelphia, Pa. (Marquis Scholar)

DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS AND BUSINESS AWARD FOR SCHOLASTIC EXCELLENCE. Awarded to a student for outstanding academic performance in economics and business and for leadership in departmental activities.

Edward L. Russo ’99, Hackensack, N.J.

FINANCIAL EXECUTIVES INSTITUTE AWARD. Awarded to a student in recognition of outstanding academic achievement in accounting and/or finance, promise of future success, and intent to seek a career in corporate accounting or financial management.

Dmitry V. Yakimchuk ’99, Greystone, N.Y.


ACCOUNTING-RELATED STUDIES. Given to a student for excellence in accounting and business subjects.

Brian M. Kunec ’99, Conyingham, Pa.

INSTITUTE OF MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTANTS AWARD. Given to a student for excellence in accounting.

Kasey E. Riley ’99, Millville, N.J. (Marquis Scholar and EXCEL Scholar)

PENNSYLVANIA INSTITUTE OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS AWARD. Given to a graduating senior for excellence in accounting and for participation in college and community affairs.

Edward L. Russo ’99, Hackensack, N.J.

H. TARBELL AWARD. Awarded to a student who demonstrates an understanding of financial operations and institutions.

Emily G. Theriault ’99, Lexington, Mass.

WALL STREET JOURNAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD IN BUSINESS. Given to an honor student whose academic performance in business is considered exceptional.

Yang Teng ’99, Harbin Heilongjiang, China (EXCEL Scholar)

WALL STREET JOURNAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD IN ECONOMICS. Given to an honor student whose academic performance in economics is considered exceptional.

Olena O. Kramar ’99, Khmelnitsky, Ukraine (EXCEL Scholar)


EUGENE P. CHASE GOVERNMENT PRIZE. Awarded annually to the student who has, in the judgment of the Department of Government and Law, submitted the best written exposition in the field of political science during the academic year.

Greg W. Featherman ’99, Elmira, N.Y.

MINERVA AND EMIL V. NOVAK PRIZE IN GOVERNMENT AND LAW. Presented annually to a student majoring in the Department of Government and Law based on overall excellence in academic work and citizenship in the campus community.

Wendy K. Erdly ’99, Turbotville, Pa. (EXCEL Scholar)

Brent D. Hierman ’00, Harvard, Mass.

Karen M. Khatchadourian ’99, Norwood, Pa.

Bradley A. Plotner ’99, East Petersburg, Pa. (EXCEL Scholar)

Tara B. White ’99, Redding, Conn.


CLASS OF 1910 PRIZE. Awarded annually to a senior student who has excelled in the study of history or in an allied field of humanities and who, in the determination of the department, manifests the greatest promise for responsible civic leadership and public service.

Jeremy S. Parker ’99, Washington, D.C. (Marquis Scholar)

Categorized in: News and Features