Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Lafayette College students received the prizes and awards listed below at the 1999 All-College Honors Convocation.

(Note: Marquis Scholars, selected from among the College’s most-promising applicants, receive a special financial-aid award and other important benefits. EXCEL Scholars do collaborative research with faculty and earn a stipend.)


LEOPARD MEDAL. Awarded to the first-year cadet who contributes the most to the advancement of Army ROTC at Lafayette College. The cadet must be academically in the top 10 percent of his/her ROTC class and the top 25 percent of his/her academic class. The award is made possible through the generous contributions of Harry M. Jones ’66, Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Army (Ret.).

Shanna M. Stann ’02, Coudersport, Pa.

COLLEGE PRESIDENT’S AWARD. Awarded annually to the outstanding cadets from each class in terms of overall achievement measured by scholastic excellence, leadership, military performance, and extracurricular involvement.

Richard J. Farrell ’99, Morristown, N.J.

ElizabethAnne M. Cain ’00, Wynnewood, Pa.

Sarah A. Glacel ’01, Fort Hood, Texas (Marquis Scholar)

Shanna M. Stann ’02, Coudersport, Pa.


JAMES F. BRYANT ’40 EXCELLENCE AWARD. Awarded to a junior student who meets standards of excellence, as did James F. Bryant, by demonstrating high academic achievement, lettering in at least one varsity sport, and showing noticeable and noteworthy evidence of community service.

Heather G. Stoltz ’00, Woodbridge, Conn.

EUGENE P. CHASE PHI BETA KAPPA PRIZE. Awarded to a sophomore who has demonstrated scholarship as a first-year student.

Douglas J. Fish ’01, Londonderry, Vt. (Marquis Scholar)

Jean Marie B. Ruddy ’01, Dunmore, Pa. (Marquis Scholar and EXCEL Scholar)

Elena Y. Sidelnikova ’01, Moscow, Russia

LAFAYETTE ALUMNI OF THE LEHIGH VALLEY PERFORMING ARTS AWARD. Awarded annually to a senior residing in the greater Lehigh Valley who has made a significant contribution to Lafayette’s performing arts program while demonstrating strong academic achievement.

Donna M. DiGregorio ’99, East Stroudsburg, Pa. (Marquis Scholar and EXCEL Scholar)

LAFAYETTE ALUMNI OF THE LEHIGH VALLEY SCHOLARSHIP AWARD. Awarded annually to a senior residing in the greater Lehigh Valley who demonstrates outstanding academic achievement.

Christopher A. Fullenwider ’99, Whitehall, Pa. (EXCEL Scholar)

DAVID A. PORTLOCK STUDY ABROAD MEMORIAL PRIZE. Awarded annually to an outstanding student who will benefit most from studying abroad.

Emily L. Bachhuber ’99, Somerville, N.J.

Kathleen T. Boyer ’00, Catasauqua, Pa.

PAUL TULLY MEMORIAL PRIZE. Presented to the student who best exemplifies the progressive principles of social and political service-democratic ideals to which Paul Tully devoted his life.

Melissa D. Veitengruber ’99, Howell, N.J.

Categorized in: News and Features