Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Outstanding professors and other members of the Lafayette community were honored this evening for distinguished teaching, scholarly research, and service to the College at Lafayette’s annual trustee-faculty dinner in Marquis Hall.

Lafayette President Arthur J. Rothkopf ’55; Alan W. Griffith ’64, the chair of the board of trustees; and June Schlueter, the provost and Charles A. Dana Professor of English, presented the awards and citations.

Three retiring members were honored with certificates and gifts, Pat Fisher, instructor in the Department of Athletics and former varsity women’s basketball coach, Bill Lawson, instructor in athletics and varsity men’s lacrosse coach, and Geraldine Alley, who retired in December as associate controller.

Rothkopf announced that the board of trustees has appointed three faculty members to endowed chairs, effective with the 2002-03 academic year:

  • Rose Marie L. Bukics, professor of economics and business, will become Thomas Roy and Lura Forrest Jones Professor of Economics and Business
  • Andrew C. Fix, professor of history, will become Charles A. Dana Professor of History
  • Wendy L. Hill, professor of psychology and chair of neuroscience, will become William C. ’67 and Pamela H. Rappolt Professor in Neuroscience

The evening featured the awarding of prizes in recognition of exceptional teaching, scholarship, and service to Lafayette. The prizes are funded through designated gifts to the endowment.

The inaugural recipient of the Administrator of the Year Award was Carol A. Rowlands ’81, director of admissions. Established by gifts from faculty members to recognize outstanding contributions by members of the Lafayette administrative team to the campus community, it will be made each year to a full-time administrator nominated by a member of the faculty or a division head.

Marquis Distinguished Teaching Awards for distinctive and extraordinary teaching went to Bryan R. Washington, associate professor of English; Howard G. Schneiderman, professor of anthropology and sociology; Mary J.S. Roth ’83, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering; and Lawrence L. Malinconico, associate professor of geology and environmental geosciences. An endowed fund established by Lafayette trustee Walter A. Scott, Class of 1959, and his wife Kate, of Bermuda, provides for four annual awards.

Recipients of Student Government Superior Teaching Awards were George E. Panichas, professor of philosophy, and John S. Shaw III, assistant professor of psychology.

Elaine R. Reynolds, assistant professor of biology, was the recipient of the Delta Upsilon Distinguished Mentoring and Teaching Award. Established in 2000 by the alumni of the Lafayette chapter of the Delta Upsilon fraternity on the 115th anniversary of the fraternity’s founding, the award recognizes members of the faculty for distinctive and extraordinary teaching through mentoring, which may include advising, undergraduate research, independent study, or any of the many one-on-one mentoring activities that take place in a student-centered learning environment.

Arnold A. Offner, Cornelia F. Hugel Professor of History, received the Mary Louise Van Artsdalen Prize for outstanding scholarly achievement. The award was established by Dr. Ervin R. Van Artsdalen, a 1935 graduate of Lafayette, in memory of his wife.

William D. Jemison ’85, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, was the recipient of the Carl R. and Ingeborg Beidleman Research Award recognizing excellence in applied research or scholarship. The prize was established by Carl R. Beidleman, a member of Lafayette’s Class of 1954 and a professor emeritus of finance at Lehigh University, and his wife, Ingeborg.

Clifford A. Reiter and Gary P. Gordon, professors of mathematics, received the James P. Crawford Award. Established by Jonathan Bernon, a 1984 Lafayette graduate from Woodbury, Conn., the prize rewards a faculty member who has demonstrated a high standard of classroom instruction. The award honors James P. Crawford, who has taught in the department of mathematics since 1957.

William A. Hornfeck, professor of electrical and computer engineering, received the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation Award for excellence in teaching and outstanding contributions to campus life.

Robert S. Mattison, Marshall R. Metzger Professor of Art, received the Thomas Roy and Lura Forrest Jones Award for superior teaching and scholarly contribution to his discipline.

John S. Shaw III, assistant professor of psychology, and Ian D. Smith, assistant professor of English, received Thomas Roy and Lura Forrest Jones Faculty Lecture Awards in recognition of excellence in teaching and scholarship. Each will receive a cash prize and will deliver a featured lecture during the 2002-03 academic year.

Also recognized were this year’s Jones Faculty Lecturers Robin C. Rinehart, associate professor of religion, and Bruce A. Young, associate professor of biology.

Robert I. Weiner, Thomas Roy and Lura Forrest Jones Professor of History, received the Daniel F. Golden, Class of 1934, Faculty Service Award. The award recognizes distinguished service to Lafayette through the Alumni Association and alumni activities.

Six faculty members received Joseph Johnson Hardy Memorial Fund Awards. The award was established in 1923 by Harry S. Gay of the Class of 1882 in memory of Professor Hardy, who taught mathematics and astronomy at Lafayette from 1870 to 1915. The income from this fund is divided annually among the five members of the faculty who have achieved the longest continuous service to Lafayette.

Honored were James P. Crawford, who has taught in the department of mathematics since 1957; Edward R. McDonald, professor of foreign languages and literatures (1964); B. Vincent Viscomi, Simon Cameron Long Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering (1964), and Bill Lawson, instructor in athletics (1965). Also, in a tie for fifth place in longest continuous service, Joseph J. Martin, associate professor of English (1967), and Thomas W. Norton, professor of anthropology and sociology (1967).

Seven faculty members were honored for 25 years of service to Lafayette, Diane Cole Ahl, Arthur J. ’55 and Barbara S. Rothkopf Professor of Art History; Susan A. Basow, Charles A. Dana Professor of Psychology; John F. Greco, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering; June Schlueter, provost and Charles A. Dana Professor of English; Donald L. Miller, John Henry MacCracken Professor of History; J. Larry Stockton, professor of music; and Leonard A. Van Gulick, Matthew Baird Professor of Mechanical Engineering.

Categorized in: Academic News