Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Lafayette's alumni volunteers were recognized for their dedicated service during the annual Alumni Volunteer Leadership dinner Sept. 13 in the new Pfenning Alumni Center. Sixteen alumni and nine classes and alumni chapters were honored for their outstanding service.

“The Volunteer Recognition Dinner gives us the opportunity to recognize and give special thanks to those who have been very active in support of our school,” says John Leone, director of Alumni Affairs. “We honor the best of our best.”

“The success of the recent Lafayette Leadership Campaign has been well documented, but our leadership role among institutions of higher learning means even greater challenges ahead,” Leone adds. “The support provided by the Lafayette alumni body is second to none, and because of it Lafayette will continue to excel and thrive.”

Alumni Association Service Awards

Joseph E. Bell '28 Alumni Distinguished Service Award: presented to a leader of the Alumni Association whose service has been of the highest quality, enduring many years, and benefiting the entire campus community.
Bill Oaks '51

Clifton P. Mayfield '09 Outstanding Young Alumni Award: honors a graduate of the past 15 years for outstanding service to the college and to the Alumni Association.
Karen Kirby '87

William E. Greenip Jr. '44 Award: recognizes the area club officer whose voluntary service achievements to the chapters program were above and beyond regular officer assignments.
Ed Baumgardner '61

George T. Woodring '19 Service Award: recognizes the achievements of a long-term Alumni Association volunteer whose service is both dedicated and effective.
Bob Moss '57

George T. Woodring '19 Volunteer of the Year Award: honors an Alumni Association member for outstanding leadership during the previous year.
Bruce Maggin '65

Class Correspondents Awards

Wilson E. Hughes '38 Correspondent Award: recognizes an effective writer who exercises class leadership through the column, unifying classmates in support of the College.
Vicki Salemi '95

Elmer E. Huhn '24 Correspondent Award: presented to the correspondent who seeks out and includes large numbers of classmates from many different geographic areas and walks of life.
Susan Githens Cable '91

Bernard S. Wildstein '35 Correspondent Award: recognizes a long-time correspondent who is faithful and prompt in submitting positive, upbeat columns.
Irv Bravman '50

Alumni Chapter Awards

Outstanding Chapter Event Chair of the Year: honors a chapter event leader(s) for innovative planning and careful execution of an exceptionally successful event.
Ellen Weiler '83 and Cory Alexander '95

Outstanding Chapters Support Award: recognizes a person who has contributed exemplary service to the Alumni Chapters program.
John Becica '69

Chapter of the Year: recognizes a chapter that has most successfully built alumni interest and involvement through its programs.
Northeast Pennsylvania

Annual Fund Awards

Joseph T. Losee '94 Award: presented to the reunion year class achieving the highest Lafayette College Fund total.
Class of 1977

Lafayette College Fund Award: honors the non-reunion class achieving the highest Lafayette College Fund total.
Class of 1964

Alumni Association Award: recognizes the class achieving the most improved participation rate.
Class of 1962

Julius Naab '19 Award: for the 50-Plus Club class with the highest rate of participation.
Class of 1945

Ernest G. Smith '94 Award: honors the class achieving the highest percentage of participation from the 11th through 50th alumni classes.
Class of 1957

Robert Whitmer 1885 Award: for the young alumni class achieving the highest percentage of participation.
Class of 1992

Robert Tinsman '01 Award: recognizes the class achieving the most improved Lafayette College Fund total.
Class of 1977

Alumni Admissions Representative (AAR) Awards

Alumni Admissions Representative of the Year Award: honors a volunteer who represents the College with outstanding dedication, reliability and sensitivity.
Monica Sullivan Doyle '81

New AAR of the Year Award: recognizes a first-year AAR who has served the College with extraordinary enthusiasm, commitment and skill.
Kim Streamer '90

AAR William G. Wilson Distinguished Service Award: recognizes the sustained service, initiative, creativity, and leadership of an AAR volunteer.
Francey Burke '80

AAR Area Chairperson of the Year Award: honors an exemplary leader of an area committee.
Jim Quin '66

AAR Geographic Outreach Award: recognizes an AAR who has significantly improved Lafayette's image and recruitment potential outside of the tri-state area.
Brian Mansfield '91

AAR Committee of the Year Award: recognizes a committee whose members have worked to significantly improve Lafayette's image and recruitment potential in their area.

Categorized in: Alumni