Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

The Marquis Players will present their 18th annual production for charity with a staging of the musical comedy Sugar April 4-6 in the Williams Center for the Arts.

Sugar, a musical adaptation of the Marilyn Monroe blockbuster Some Like it Hot, made its debut on Broadway in 1972. The play will be performed 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday and 3 p.m. Sunday. Tickets are $5 and may be purchased in the Chaplain’s Office, 105 Hogg Hall, or at the Marquis Players table in Farinon College Center between noon and 1 p.m. Call 610-330-5320 for more information.

Junior Ryan Van Horn of Gibsonia, Pa., is expressing his passion for music as vocal director.

“This is an opportunity to do what I love,” he says. “I’m also serving as a role model for the newer members of the organization. Seeing the final product is the most rewarding aspect of the musical for me. It is great to see how everything comes together day-by-day and watch the whole process develop.”

A chemical engineering major, Van Horn is president of Marquis Players and has participated in its productions of Crazy for You and Chess. He is a member of American Institute of Chemical Engineers and participates in club volleyball.

The Marquis Players is a student group that produces and performs an annual musical to raise money for hunger and homelessness causes. Other performances in recent years have included Guys and Dolls and Pippin. The student productions have netted nearly $60,000 for local, national, and international causes.

Joe/Josephine/Shell Oil – Jim Azarelo ’03 (Cary, N.C.)
Jerry/ Daphne – Mike McFadden ’04 (Broomall, Pa.)
Sugar Kane (Kowalczyk) – Jess Lenza ’05 (Hackettstown, N.J.)
Sweet Sue – Toni Ahrens ’05 (Hamilton, N.Y.)
Miss Beinstock – Ashlee Snyder ’05 (Gilbertsville, Pa.)
Miz Spats Palazzo – Amanda Driscoll ’06 (Princeton Junction, N.J.)
Sir Osgood Fielding III – Tyler Cohn ’06 (Wantagh, N.Y.)
Olga – Janine Stavrovski ’03 (Bethlehem, Pa.)
Dolores – Rebecca Banchik ’05 (West Lebanon, N.H.)
Mary Lou – Caryn Donohue ’06 (Garden City, N.Y.)
Emily – Amie (Beth) Aguiar ’04 (Warren, R.I.)
Rosella – Alisandra B. Carnevale ’06 (Princeton, N.J.)
Irene – Laura Smothers ’06 (Freehold, N.J.)
Florence (Flo) – Rachel Glover ’04 (East Greenwich, RI)
Adelaide – Danielle Wyckoff ’06 (Reva, Va.)
Debbie – Sandra Welch ’06 (Philadelphia, Pa.)

Sweet Sue’s Dancers
Sandra Furnbach ’03 (Matawan, N.J.)
Abby O’Connor ’03 (Newton, N.J.)
Jessica Goldblat ’06 (Springfield, N.J.)
Colby Block ’06 (Boca Raton, Fla.)
Julie Niblock ’04 (Philadelphia, Pa.)
Christina Frey ’05 (Chalfont, Pa.)
LeAnne Dourte ’05 (Lebanon, Pa.)
Jess Papada ’03 (Hazleton, Pa.)
Shannon Sullivan ’04 (Wading River, N.Y.)

Jessie Walters ’04 (Whitehall, Pa.)
Stacey Ehrlich ’05 (Bridgewater, N.J.)
Steve Bayer ’04 (Doylestown, Pa.)
Benjamin Berlow ’06 (Palmerton, Pa.)
Ryan Sundra ’06 (Hazleton, Pa.)

Director – Rachel Korpanty ’03 (Summerville, S.C.)
Assistant Director – Jim Azarelo ’03 (Cary, N.C.)
Pit Director – Jen Tonkin ’03 (Belle Mead, N.J.)
Vocal Director – Ryan Van Horn ’04 (Gibsonia, Pa.)
Art Director – Mike McFadden ’04 (Broomall, Pa.)
Props Masters – Amie Aguiar ’04 (Warren, RI) and Nate Lonergan ’04 (Orwigsburg, Pa.)

Marquis Players Officers
Ryan Van Horn ’04 (Gibsonia, Pa.) – President
Abby O’Connor ’03 (Newton, N.J.) –Vice President
Jim Azarelo ’03 (Cary, N.C.) – Secretary
Mike McFadden ’04 (Broomall, Pa.) and Toni Ahrens ’05 (Hamilton, N.Y.) – Business Managers

Categorized in: Students