Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Students, faculty, staff, administrators, and a community member who have made outstanding contributions to Lafayette and the community were honored Sunday at the 15th Annual Aaron O. Hoff Awards in the Farinon Center Marlo Room.

Sponsored by the Office of Student Activities, the awards are named in honor of one of Lafayette’s first students, who blew the horn that summoned Lafayette’s first 43 students and three teachers to class in 1832. A member of the Class of 1836, Hoff was the first African American student to attend the College.

Lafayette’s Highest Honors
The People’s Choice Awards, given to students or employees known as unusually productive and concerned for the betterment of the college and its student body (all campus nominations accepted): Reco Collins ’05, Alexis Siemons ’05, Erin McKan ’05

Superior Teaching Awards, given to outstanding faculty members (criteria and selection by Student Government, nominations from student body). Humanities and social sciences: Andrew Smith (English); natural sciences and engineering: Alan Childs (psychology)

The Administrators’ Award, given to a student who has demonstrated sincere concern for the College community and has unselfishly taken constructive measures to assist the administration in bettering Lafayette (chosen from administrative nominations): Kate Robbins ’05

The Unsung Hero Award, given to students and/or staff members who have worked without concern for personal reward, have been loyal and dedicated, and have not been recognized for their efforts (all campus nominations accepted): Larry Malinconico (geology and environmental geosciences), Paul Dimick ’05, John O’Keefe96 (Instructional Technology)

Service Above Self Award, presented in recognition of the individual or individuals who best exemplify the qualities of caring and concern for others in service activities (all campus nominations accepted): Matt Grossman ’05

Leopard Leader Award, given to one or more students who have held a variety of leadership positions and have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities (all campus nominations accepted, committee selected): Dyan Argento ’05, Toni Ahrens ’05

Special Recognition: Mike Nilson ’05, trumpeter

Organization Awards
Academic Group of the Year,given to an organization related to the academic program that has offered significant intellectual and/or career opportunities to its members as well as a variety of speakers or programs to the Lafayette community: Engineers Without Borders

Athletic/Recreational Club of the Year,presented to an athletic or recreational club that has been well organized, has offered its membership and the College excellent opportunities for participation and/or competition with good sportsmanship, and has improved its membership or campus recognition: Equestrian Club

Outstanding Cultural or Religious Group, given to the group whose performances or programs have made an exceptional contribution to the cultural environment at Lafayette in terms of opportunities for increased cultural appreciation, awareness, tolerance, or personal/spiritual growth: International Students Association

Outstanding Service Organization, given to the service or communications organization whose projects and/or volunteer work has fulfilled the organization’s goals and objectives through the hard work of its entire membership. This organization should promote desirable values to the Lafayette community or effectively inform/entertain the campus through its chosen medium with accuracy, integrity, and creativity: The Lafayette (newspaper)

Outstanding Living Group, given to the living group whose membership has been involved in outside activities, leadership positions, and/or athletics, has contributed to society and philanthropic endeavors, and has provided the Lafayette community with social and/or educational events of high quality: McKelvy Scholars Program

Program of the Year, given to an organization that has provided the most outstanding social, philanthropic or entertainment event to the campus. Events are judged on originality, creativity, popularity, and degree to which they fulfilled their purposes: Holla Back

Educator Awards
Administrator of the Year, given to an administrator who has acted with professionalism and integrity and succeeded in producing meaningful change (nominated by students, selected by committee): Sarah Stauffer (College Relations)

Adviser of the Year, given to an organization adviser who has eagerly promoted and participated in his or her organization’s events and projects, and is considered both loyal and outstanding by his or her organization (nominated by organization officers and members, committee selected): Amy Ahart’97 (Lafayette Activities Forum)

Staff Members of the Year, given to staff members who have served the Lafayette community beyond their description, and have been courteous and involved in campus life (nominated by students, committee selected): Darlene Frank (Office of Religious Life), Karen Haduck (Skillman Library), Huzeifa Kitabwalla (Dining Services)

Service Awards
Volunteer of the Year, given to one or more students who have selflessly made exceptional contributions to society through their volunteer work (nominated and selected by the Landis Community Outreach Center and Chaplain’s Office staff): Kathleen“Kittie”Reddington ’08, Jillian Carinci ’08

Class of 1997 Community Service Award, presented to the senior who embodies the ideals of philanthropy, volunteer work or community service (nominated and selected by the Outreach Center and Chaplain’s Office staff): Susan Bothwell ’05

Community Appreciation Award, presented to an individual, organization or business within the Easton community who/which has actively supported and enhanced student life (nominated by students, committee selected): Family Connection

The 2004 Hoff Awards Committee was comprised of chair Colleen Walsh ’06, Kelly Barrows ’06, Caryn Donohue ’06, Andrew Kasman ’06, Dan O’Neil ’06, Martha Osier ’06, Pam Brewer, associate dean of students, and Kelly Deemer, secretary of Student Life Programs.

Categorized in: Students