Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Award ceremony celebrates individuals who are making a difference on campus and in the community

Lafayette students, faculty, and organizations were honored for their dedication to academics and furthering diversity on campus and in the surrounding community at the annual Diversity Awards held April 30, in the Wilson Room, Pfenning Alumni Center.Sponsored by the Office of Intercultural Development and the Office of Dean of the College, the ceremony celebrates those who have committed themselves to addressing issues of multiculturalism, diversity, and social justice throughout the year.

The list of award recipients follows:

Association of Black Collegians (ABC) Recognition Award Presented to a member of the Lafayette community who has throughout the year provided guidance to, and supported ABC.
Steffi Romano ’09
(government and law), New York, N.Y.

Darlyne Bailey ’74 Excellence in the Humanities and Social Sciences Award – A student whose academic/artistic accomplishments reflect an outstanding level of scholarship and advances understanding on an important issue.
Sasha Graham ’09
(government and law), New York, N.Y.

David A. Portlock Cross– Cultural Relationship Award – Students who have worked diligently to promote cross-cultural relationships on campus or in the community.
Adekemi Egunsola ’09
(chemistry), New York, N.Y.
DeAndre Morrow ’10
(history), Hilton Head Island, S.C.

Dr. Eugene Deloatch `59 Excellence in Science and Engineering AwardSeniors whose academic accomplishments have reflected and continue to reflect an outstanding level of scholarship.
Karlyn Adams ’09 (psychology), Ford City, Pa.
Matthew Gibbons ’09 (mathematics/government and law), Mount Vernon, N.Y.
Nicholas Stowe ’09 (engineering studies), Tacoma, Wash.

Dr. Eugene Deloatch `59 First-Year Academic Achievement Award First year students in engineering and science with highest GPAs.
Nicholas Booker-Tandy ’12, (biology), Pompano Beach, Fla.
Alex Rivas ’12 (mechanical engineering), East Meadow, N.Y.

Excellence in Diversity Education Award – A faculty or administrator whose commitment and service to diversity on campus promotes awareness and a positive learning environment for all students.
John Colatch
, director of religious life and College chaplain

Frances Ocansey-Ahene Award – A graduating senior whose activities and commitment to academic excellence and inclusive cultural education within the community transcends all barriers and exemplifies the ethos of multiculturalism.
Daniela Duca ’09
(biochemistry/international economics & commerce), Chisinau, Moldova

Intercultural Networking Council Recognition Award (LINC) – Given to a campus organization which best exemplifies the mission and values of LINC.
International Students Association

International Students Association Recognition Award Given to an ISA member who has throughout the year supported ISA.
Ahsan Nawroj ’12
(electrical and computer engineering), Dhaka, Bangladesh
Ryan Shroff ’12
(psychology), Mumbai, India

Jeffrey D. Robinson ’80 Leadership Award – An accomplished student who is also characterized by noteworthy leadership in College activities and student life.
Rhonda Lee Davis ’09
(international affairs/anthropology and sociology), Mount Vernon, N.Y.

Leroy D. Nunery ’77 Intellectual Citizenship Award – A student whose research on important social, political or economic issues advances knowledge and involves the student in activities within a community.
Karlyn Adams ’09
(psychology), Ford City, Pa.

Otis Ellis `89 Scholar Athlete AwardA successful varsity athlete who has achieved an outstanding level of scholarship.
Shaun Adair ’09
(psychology), Morristown, N.J.
Osasumwen Izevbigie ’09
(government and law/philosophy), Springdale, Md.

Paving the Path Award – A (first-year or sophomore) student who has demonstrated potential for greatness in the years to come.
Shariff Dean ’11
, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Riley Temple ’71 Creative and Artistic Citizenship AwardA student whose creative scholarship in the visual and/or performance arts contributes to knowledge on societal issues of multi–cultural or inter-cultural concerns.
Bryan Fox ’10
(English/music), Bronx, N.Y.

Categorized in: News and Features
Tagged with: ,