Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Students, faculty, staff, and administrators are recognized for their dedication to the College community

Lafayette students, faculty, and staff were honored May 3 for their dedication and commitment to the College community at the 19th Annual Aaron O. Hoff Awards Ceremony in Farinon College Center, Marlo Room.

Sponsored by the Office of Student Life Programs, the awards are named in honor of one of the College’s first students. In 1832, Hoff blew the horn that summoned Lafayette’s first 43 students and three teachers to class. As a member of the Class of 1836, Hoff was the College’s first African American student. Computer science major Robert Follett ’09 (Lebanon, Pa.) played Reverie at the start of the ceremony and Taps at the end in honor of Hoff.

History major Paul Sommers ’09 (Wenonah, N.J.) and Susan Averett, professor and head of economics, served as hosts for the evening. Hoff Awards Committee chair Michael Gruner ’10 (Bethesda, Md.), an economics and business major, gave the closing remarks for the event.

Educator Awards

Administrator of the Year. Awarded to administrators who have acted with professionalism and integrity and succeeded in producing meaningful change (nominated by students, selected by committee).
Scott Morse (director of Athletic Communications)

Adviser of the Year. Presented to an organization adviser who has eagerly promoted and participated in his or her organization’s events and projects, and is considered both loyal and outstanding by his or her organization (nominated by organization officers and members, committee selected).
Lauren Ibbotson (assistant director of Student Life programs)

Staff Members of the Year. Awarded to staff members who have served the Lafayette community beyond their description, and have been courteous and involved in campus life (nominated by students, committee selected).
Tony Marina (custodian in Plant Operations)
Serena Ashmore
(secretary for chemical and mechanical engineering)

Lafayette’s Highest Honors

The Administrators’ Award. Presented to a student who has demonstrated sincere concern for the college community and has unselfishly taken constructive measures to assist the administration in bettering Lafayette (chosen from administrative nominations).
Trey Jackson ’10, Germantown, Md.
Nick Keller ’09
(international affairs/psychology), Mountainside, N.J.

Leopard Leader Award. Given to one or more students who have held a variety of leadership positions and have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities (all campus nominations accepted, committee selected).
Sarah Maxwell ’09 (international affairs), West Chester, Pa.
Rhonda-Lee Davis ’09 (international affairs/anthropology and sociology), Mount Vernon, N.Y.

The People’s Choice Awards. Given to students or employees known as unusually productive and concerned for the betterment of the college and its student body (all campus nominations accepted).
J. Ronald Martin (professor of chemical engineering)
A.J. Ernst ’09
(English), Lawrenceville, N.J.
Vanessa Tyree
(Gilbert’s Cafe)

Student Government Superior Teaching Awards. Given to outstanding faculty members (criteria and selection by Student Government, nominations from student body).
W. Mark Crain (Simon Professor of Political Economy)
John S. Shaw
(associate professor of psychology)

The Unsung Hero Award. Presented to students and/or staff members who have worked without concern for personal reward, have been loyal and dedicated, and have not been recognized for their efforts (all campus nominations accepted).
Sarah Belliotti ’09 (philosophy), Buffalo, N.Y.
Braden Tilghman ’09
(B.S. mechanical engineering/A.B. English), Miami, Fla.

Organization Awards

Academic Group of the Year. Awarded to an organization related to the academic program that has offered significant intellectual and/or career opportunities to its members as well as a variety of speakers or programs to the Lafayette community.
Forensics Society

Athletic/Recreational Club of the Year. Presented to an athletic or recreational club that has been well organized, has offered its membership and the college excellent opportunities for participation and/or competition with good sportsmanship, and has improved its membership or campus recognition.
Club Squash Team

Outstanding Cultural or Religious Group. Given to the group whose performances or programs have made an exceptional contribution to the cultural environment at Lafayette in terms of opportunities for increased cultural appreciation, awareness, tolerance, or personal/spiritual growth.
Hillel Society

Outstanding Living Group. Given to the living group whose membership has been involved in outside activities, leadership positions, and/or athletics, has contributed to society and philanthropic endeavors, and has provided the Lafayette community with social and/or educational events of high quality.
Music Appreciation Floor

Outstanding Service Organization. Awarded to the service or communications organization whose projects and/or volunteer work has fulfilled the organization’s goals and objectives through the hard work of its entire membership. This organization should promote desirable values and/or provide exceptional service to the Lafayette.
Alternative School Break
Lafayette Activities Forum

Program of the Year. Presented to organizations that have provided the most outstanding program to campus, be it social, philanthropic, educational, or entertainment. Events are judged on originality, creativity, popularity, and degree to which they fulfilled their purposes.
2008 Election Night Telecast

Service Awards

Class of 1997 Community Service Award. Given to seniors who embody the ideals of philanthropy, volunteer work or community service (nominated and selected by the Outreach Center and Chaplain’s Office staff).
Caroline Szczepanski ’09 (chemical engineering), Elizabethtown, Pa.

Community Appreciation Award. Presented to an individual, organization or business within the Easton community who/which has actively supported and enhanced student life (nominated by students, committee selected).
Easton Main Street Initiative

Service Above Self Award. Presented in recognition of the individual or individuals who best exemplify the qualities of caring and concern for others in service activities (all campus nominations accepted).
Julie Sorkin ’09
(economics and business/psychology), Whippany, N.J.

Volunteer of the Year. Given to one or more students who have selflessly made exceptional contributions to society through their volunteer work (nominated and selected by the Landis Community Outreach Center and Chaplain’s Office staff).
Caitlin Flood ’12 (government and law), Bellerose Terrace, N.Y.

The 2009 Hoff Awards Committee was comprised of Gruner, Darlene Cerullo ’11, Banks Clark ’10, Alex Crespo ’10, Trey Jackson ’10, Ashley Juavinett ’11, Ioana Marin ’11, Victoria Pocius ’11, Brian Thomsen ’11, Brad Williams ’10, and Pam Brewer, associate dean of students.

Categorized in: Academic News
Tagged with: