Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Cara Lyons '11 in New Zealand

More than 150 students will be studying in Australia, Ecuador, Egypt, France, the Galapagos Islands, Madagascar, New Zealand, South Africa, and Turkey during the winter break.

This is the 33rd year in which Lafayette is offering concentrated, three-week, faculty-led courses during the interim session between regular semesters. In many courses, students meet prominent business people, cultural figures, government officials, and academics, learning directly from these experts about the subject matter they are studying. In May and June, students will also explore Australia, Indonesia, London, and the national parks of Western United States in similar faculty-led, concentrated courses.

The College also offers faculty-led semester abroad programs. Students take classes from Lafayette faculty as well as faculty of host institutions. They also take part in field trips, which are planned and led by Lafayette faculty with the help of local organizers.

In the spring semester, students will study with David Brandes, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, at Saint Louis University’s campus in Madrid, Spain, and William Hornfeck, professor of electrical and computer engineering, at Jacobs University Bremen in Germany. In fall 2011, Rexford Ahene, professor of economics and chair of Africana studies, will head a program at University of Ghana. Previous faculty-led semesters have been in Athens, Greece; Brussels, Belgium; Dijon, France, and London.

In addition to the faculty-led programs, Lafayette has affiliations with many colleges and other organizations through which students study in many countries. Students can participate in affiliated programs in Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bali, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Russia, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Tibet, Uganda, and Trinidad.

Categorized in: Academic News, Engineering, News and Features, Students, Study Abroad
Tagged with: ,