Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Field hockey head coach Andrew Griffiths has been named the Division I Coach of the Year by Synapse Sports.

In addition, co-captain Deanna DiCroce ’13 earned Second and Third Team All-America honors from Synapse and the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA), respectively.

DiCroce finished the year seventh nationally in points per game (2.55) and assists per game (0.75). She was eighth in goals per game at 0.9 per contest.

“It’s great for Deanna to be featured prominently on the national stage,” Griffiths says. “The honor is well deserved for her performances.”

Field hockey head coach Andrew Griffiths receives the Patriot League Championship trophy from Lafayette President Daniel H. Weiss.

Field hockey head coach Andrew Griffiths receives the Patriot League Championship trophy from Lafayette President Daniel H. Weiss.

In the Patriot League, DiCroce led all players in points and goals with 51 and 18, respectively. She also sat right behind Valeo for the league lead in assists with 15.

Griffiths, in his sixth season on College Hill, led his team to the first at-large bid to an NCAA Tournament in school and Patriot League history, falling to defending national champion Maryland in the first round, 2-0.

“I’m grateful to receive this recognition,” Griffiths said. “I see it as a reflection of all the efforts of our coaching staff and support staff, but mainly the hard work of the players.”

This year’s team earned two wins over ranked teams and conference champions. On Sept. 14, two goals from midfielder Brittany Blass ’15 catapulted the Leopards to a win over No. 15 Drexel, which went on to win the CAA and earn an automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament.

Eight days later, the team traveled to Albany, N.Y., to take on No. 21 Albany, another team that would win its conference and play in the NCAA’s. Jenna Seybert ’15 tied the game on a corner in the 56th minute and co-captain Emily Valeo ’13 put a move on three defenders on her way to the game-winning goal in the 87th minute.

NFHCA Coach of the Year voting will be released Dec. 3.

Categorized in: Faculty and Staff, News and Features, Students
Tagged with: ,


  1. George Tiger says:

    Great Season – Great Coach – Great Team — put it together and many awards for
    ALL. Keep the pill rolling – let’s go for Three straight Patriot League Championships!
    Go Pards!!!

  2. William Rappolt says:

    We are proud of Andrew’s achievements as well as the team’s hard work. They are a credit to Lafayette College and represent well what we stand for. Well done!!

  3. Ken O'Connor says:

    Congratulations Andrew – well done.

    Happy Thanksgiving from Festival in West Palm Beach

    Ken O’Connor

Comments are closed.