Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Accomplished alumni shared their experiences and perspectives with more than 200 juniors and seniors at the 2014 Lafayette Leadership Institute, themed “Leadership 24/7.”

The annual conference focuses on developing skills and exchanging information relevant for student leaders on campus and after graduation.

View more images of the Leadership Institute on Flickr

The event consists of a keynote address with three blocks of educational sessions, an alumni panel presentation, alumni round table discussions, leadership resources, and a leadership recognition ceremony. The workshop sessions covered peer interaction, communication and technology, being a social change agent, stress and time management, and how personal values influence leadership style.

This year’s keynote address, “Leading from Behind,” was presented by Lafayette trustee Alma Scott-Buczak ’74, assistant executive director of human resources for New Jersey Transit. She discussed her belief that the best leaders create environments where all members of the organization can excel.

Alumni panelists included Gina Arias ’93, senior community partner coordinator for New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; Kartik Chandran ’95, associate professor of microbiology & immunology at Albert Einstein College of Medicine; Tony Fernandez ’81, executive vice president and chief supply chain officer at Pinnacle Foods; Lafayette Trustee James Fisher ’77, managing member of Fisher Capital Corps; and Amy Herman ’88, president of The Art of Perception. The panel was moderated by Conner Woods ’11, Lafayette admissions officer.

Faculty and staff also served as presenters for workshop sessions, including Mary Armstrong, associate professor of English/women’s and gender studies; Margie Cherry, assistant director of alumni career services; Ellis Finger, director of the Williams Center; Alex Hendrickson, college chaplain and director of religious and spiritual life; John McKnight, dean of intercultural development; and Rachel Moeller, executive director of alumni relations.

Made possible by the Class of ’68 Leadership Fund, the institute is presented by the Lafayette Leadership Education Committee and the Office of Student Leadership.

The 2013-14 Lafayette Leadership Education Committee consists of Brad Bormann ’14, student leader intern; Pam Brewer, associate dean of students and committee chair; Alan Childs, professor of psychology; Connor Heinlein ’15; Shehtaz Huq ’14; Tom McCutcheon ’15; Kaitlyn McKittrick, associate director of athletics; Moeller; Cory Spera ’15, student leader intern; Rachel Trupp ’14; Gabby Villanueva ’15; and Sicheng “S.C.” Wang ’14.

Categorized in: Alumni, Faculty and Staff, Intercultural Experience, News and Features, Students
Tagged with: