Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Students, faculty, and staff were honored May 4 for their dedication and commitment to the College community at the 24rd annual Aaron O. Hoff Awards ceremony.

Sponsored by the Office of Student Leadership and Involvement, the awards are named in honor of one of the College’s first students. In 1832, Hoff blew the horn that summoned Lafayette’s first 43 students and three teachers to class. As a member of the Class of 1836, Hoff was the College’s first African American student. Matthew Morris ’15 (Salisbury, Md.), a geology major, played “Reveille” at the start of the ceremony and “Taps” at the end in honor of Hoff.

Alyson Shumeyko ’14 (Vestal, N.Y.), a double major in English and film & media studies, and  Larry Malinconico, associate professor of geology and environmental geosciences, served as hosts for the evening. Hoff Awards Committee chair Cory Spera ’15 (Lorton, Va.), a biology major, gave the closing remarks for the event.

Educator Awards

  • Administrator of the Year. Awarded to administrators who have acted with professionalism and integrity and succeeded in producing meaningful change (nominated by students, selected by committee).
    Greg Meyer, director of student development
  • Adviser of the Year. Presented to an organization adviser who has eagerly promoted and participated in his or her organization’s events and projects, and is considered both loyal and outstanding by his or her organization (nominated by organization officers and members, committee selected).
    Janine Block ’94, international student adviser
  • Staff Member of the Year. Awarded to staff members who have served the Lafayette community beyond their description, and have been courteous and involved in campus life (nominated by students, committee selected).
    Susan Herschlag, project manager/technical liaison for dean of the College

Hoff’s Highest Honors

  • Leopard Leader Award. Given to one or more students who have held a variety of leadership positions and have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities (all campus nominations accepted, committee selected).
    Lauren Berry ’14 (Havertown, Pa.), psychology
    Brad Bormann ’14 (Flemington, N.J.), biology
  • The People’s Choice Awards. Given to students or employees known as unusually productive and concerned for the betterment of the College and its student body (all campus nominations accepted).
    Alex Hendrickson, director of spiritual and religious life and College chaplain
    Leah Godin ’14 (Landisville, Pa.), double major in anthropology & sociology and women’s & gender studies
    Ellis Finger, director of the Williams Center for the Arts
  • Student Government Superior Teaching Awards. Given to outstanding faculty members (criteria and selection by Student Government, nominations from student body).
    Rachel Goshgarian, assistant professor of history
    David Sunderlin, associate professor of geology and environmental geosciences
  • Administrators’ Award. Presented to a student who has demonstrated sincere concern for the college community and has unselfishly taken constructive measures to assist the administration in bettering Lafayette (chosen from administrative nominations).
    Abby Williams ’15 (Sacramento, Calif.), neuroscience
  • The Unsung Hero Award. Presented to students and/or staff members who have worked without concern for personal reward, have been loyal and dedicated, and have not been recognized for their efforts (all campus nominations accepted).
    Rebecca Citrin ’14 (Springfield, N.J.), civil engineering

Organization Awards

  • Academic Group of the Year. Awarded to an organization related to the academic program that has offered significant intellectual and/or career opportunities to its members as well as a variety of speakers or programs to the Lafayette community.
    American Institute of Chemical Engineers and adviser Michael Senra, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering
  • Athletic/Recreational Club of the Year. Presented to an athletic or recreational club that has been well organized, has offered its membership and the College excellent opportunities for participation and/or competition with good sportsmanship, and has improved its membership or campus recognition.
    Lafayette Ski and Snowboard Team
  • Outstanding Cultural or Religious Group. Given to the group whose performances or programs have made an exceptional contribution to the cultural environment at Lafayette in terms of opportunities for increased cultural appreciation, awareness, tolerance, or personal/spiritual growth.
    Quest and adviser Gene Kelly, associate dean of intercultural development and director of gender and sexuality programs
  • Outstanding Living Group. Given to the living group whose membership has been involved in outside activities, leadership positions, and/or athletics, has contributed to society and philanthropic endeavors, and has provided the Lafayette community with social and/or educational events of high quality.
    The Music Appreciation Floor
  • Outstanding Service Organization. Awarded to the service or communications organization whose projects and/or volunteer work has fulfilled the organization’s goals and objectives through the hard work of its entire membership. This organization should promote desirable values and/or provide exceptional service to the Lafayette community.
  • Program of the Year. Presented to organizations that have provided the most outstanding program to campus, be it social, philanthropic, educational, or entertainment. Events are judged on originality, creativity, popularity, and degree to which they fulfilled their purposes.
    Take Back the Night

Service Awards

  • Class of 1997 Community Service Award. Given to seniors who embody the ideals of philanthropy, volunteer work or community service (nominated and selected by the Landis Community Outreach Center and Chaplain’s Office staff).
    Devon Palermo ’14 (Mays Landing, N.J.), neuroscience
  • Community Appreciation Award. Presented to an individual, organization or business within the Easton community who/which has actively supported and enhanced student life (nominated by students, committee selected).
    Turning Point of Lehigh Valley
    Joel Blice
    , general manager of dining services
  • Service Above Self Award. Presented in recognition of the individual or individuals who best exemplify the qualities of caring and concern for others in service activities (all campus nominations accepted).
    Mary Higgins ’15 (Annandale, N.J.), biology
  • Volunteer of the Year. Given to one or more students who have selflessly made exceptional contributions to society through their volunteer work (nominated and selected by the Landis Community Outreach Center and Chaplain’s Office staff).
    Ivan Rudd ’17 (Oakland, N.J.), English
  • The 2014 Hoff Awards Committee was comprised of Connor Heinlein ’15, Mary Higgins ’15, Heather Hughes ’15, Yemai Liu ’15, Evan Newbold ’15, Chris Saint Germain ’15, Jennifer Schroeder ’15, Gabbi Villanueva ’15, Abigail Williams ’14, Michelle Woodworth ’15, and Pam Brewer, associate dean of students.
Categorized in: Faculty and Staff, Film and Media Studies, Intercultural Experience, News and Features, Students, The Arts
Tagged with: ,