Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Former Lafayette President Arthur Rothkopf ’55 and his wife, Barbara Rothkopf, have provided a gift to name the neuroscience lab in Oechsle Hall in honor of Wendy Hill.

Provost Wendy Hill and President Alison Byerly pose together at the annual pre- Commencement awards ceremony.

Provost Wendy Hill and President Alison Byerly presented awards to faculty and staff.

President Alison Byerly announced the honor at the annual pre-Commencement dinner May 23. Hill, the provost, dean of the faculty, and Rappolt Professor of Neuroscience, will complete 25 years of service at Lafayette June 30 and will become head of The Agnes Irwin School, Rosemont, Pa., July 1.

The wording on the plaque will read: “This laboratory honors the 25-year Lafayette career of Wendy L. Hill, founding chair of the neuroscience program, award-winning teacher and scholar, visionary academic leader, and devoted colleague and friend. Gift of Arthur J. ’55 and Barbara S. Rothkopf. May 2014.”

The board presented Hill with the following citation of appreciation at its meeting May 23:

The Board of Trustees of Lafayette College expresses its deep appreciation to Wendy L. Hill for her devoted and distinctive service over the past 25 years as a member of the faculty, the founding chair of our neuroscience program, the inaugural William C. ’67 and Pamela Rappolt Professor of Neuroscience, and, since 2007, as provost and dean of the faculty.

Wendy, a grateful former student said she chose to work with you because you were “such an intelligent, caring, and enthusiastic professor.” Another admired your “patience” and “insight.” A third simply stated that “Dr. Hill has been a gift to me.” A colleague from a peer institution praised your vision of undergraduate neuroscience education as “one that will ensure Lafayette’s students will be among the best educated in neuroscience in the nation.” We were proud but not surprised in 1999 when the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching named you Pennsylvania’s Professor of the Year.

The qualities that made you such an inspiring and engaging teacher have served you equally well as an administrator. As chief academic officer you have worked tirelessly and with conviction to promote excellence in teaching and learning across our campus. Whether you were implementing the ambitious new common course of study or launching the Year of Interdisciplinarity, your focus was always on enriching each student’s educational experience.

This certificate formally expresses our gratitude for your exemplary leadership and service. At Lafayette you have embodied the Cur Non spirit, thinking creatively and productively in ways that have helped make us a better college. That spirit makes you the ideal choice to lead the Agnes Irwin School, and we wish you continued success in your new academic home.

Edward W. Ahart ’69, chair, Board of Trustees
Nancy J. Kuenstner ’75, secretary, Board of Trustees
May 23, 2014

Categorized in: Faculty and Staff, Neuroscience, News and Features
Tagged with: , , ,