Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

Alumni, alumni groups, a faculty member, and a current student were recognized at the annual Alumni Awards Ceremony and Summit Oct. 3 in Pfenning Alumni Center.

Alumni Association awards and their recipients include:

  • Kidd Award – Ray Moyer ’63
    Presented to an alumna or alumnus who has earned distinction in their career without regard to service to the College. Named for Lafayette’s first graduate, George Washington Kidd, Class of 1836.
  • Bell Award – Alma Scott-Buczak ’74
    Presented to an alumna or alumnus who has given distinguished service to the College or the association. Upon his retirement in 1968 as alumni secretary, the award was named for Joseph E. Bell ’28.
  • Mayfield Award – Brian Sliwinksi ’08
    Presented to a member or members of one of the 15 latest classes in recognition of outstanding service to the College or association. Named for Clifton P. Mayfield, Class of 1909.
  • Woodring Service Award – Ralph Doederlein ’55
    Recognizes the achievements of a long-term Alumni Association volunteer whose service is both dedicated and effective. Named for George T. Woodring ’19.
  • Woodring Volunteer of the Year Award – Michael Weisburger ’82 and Jenny Marshall Weisburger ’82
    Recognizes an Alumni Association volunteer for outstanding leadership during the previous year.
  • Jiselle Peralta, '13, of the Alumni Council, browses through Live Connected/Lead Change campaign brochure.

    Jiselle Peralta ’13, of the Alumni Council, browses through the Live Connected/Lead Change campaign brochure.

    Greenip Award – Jeffrey Margolies ’74
    Recognizes a currently active alumni chapter officer based on voluntary service achievements “over and above” his or her faithfully carrying out of regular officer assignments. It honors the memory of William E. Greenip ’44, former Alumni Association Secretary.

  • Chapter of the Year Award – New York City
    Recognizes an alumni chapter for providing quality and diverse events while cultivating the chapter’s leadership and promoting area alumni participation.
  • Chapter Event Chairperson of the Year Award – Megan Young ’13
    Recognizes an individual that exudes leadership in the planning and execution of chapter events. He or she echoes a chapter’s commitment to promote a diverse array of events for alumni, parents, and friends of the College.
  • Chapter Support Person of the Year Award – Ryann Nickerson ’04
    Recognizes an individual who continually strives to promote alumni activity and interaction within his or her respective chapter.
  • Hughes Correspondent Award – Sara Davis Bowman ’07
    Recognizes an effective writer who exercises class leadership through the column, and unifies classmates in support of the College. Named for Wilson E. Hughes ’38.
  • Huhn Correspondent Award – Michael LeWitt ’70
    Recognizes a correspondent who actively seeks out and includes in the column many classmates from diverse regions and walks of life. Named for Elmer E. Huhn ’24.
  • Wildstein Correspondent Award – Leon Fox ’53
    Recognizes a long-time correspondent who is faithful and prompt in submitting positive, upbeat columns. Named for Bernard S. Wildstein ’35.
  • AA Student Volunteer Service Award – Jia Li Shi ’16
    Recognizes a current student who, through his or her volunteer efforts in the broader community beyond the College, has demonstrated compassion, energy, and ingenuity in serving others.
  • Daniel L. Golden ’34 Faculty Service Award – Elaine Stomber ’89
    Recognizes faculty members for distinguished volunteer service to Lafayette through the Alumni Association and its organized alumni activities.

Career Services awards and their recipients include:

  • Lois and Neil Gagnon Award – Michael McDonough ’79
    Recognizes an individual for distinguished service to Career Services.
  • Externship Commitment Awards – David Buck ’86, Donald Davis ’71, Jack Parry ’85, Kevin Rhodes ’82, Christopher Shields ’92, and Nancy Keller Shumeyko ’80
    Recognizes externship hosts with 10 years of participation.

Annual Fund awards and their recipients:

  • Joseph T. Losee ’94 Award – Class of 1980: Robert Goldstein ’80
    Presented to the reunion year class achieving the highest Lafayette College Fund total.
  • Lafayette College Fund Award – Class of 1966: James Quin ’66
    Honors the non-reunion class achieving the highest Lafayette College Fund total.
  • Julius Naab ’19 Award – Class of 1959: James Mallay ’59
    For the 50-Plus Club class with the highest rate of participation.
  • Ernest G. Smith ’94 Award – Howard Heller ’65
    Honors the class achieving the highest percentage of participation from the 11th through the 50th alumni class.
  • Robert Whitmer 1885 Award – Ian Stone ’10 and Teevrat Garg ’10
    For the young alumni class achieving the highest percentage of participation.

Alumni Admissions Representative awards and their recipients:

  • New AAR of the Year Award – Evan Gooberman ’13
    Recognizes a first-year AAR who has, during that initial period, served the College with extraordinary enthusiasm, commitment, and skill.
  • Cadence a cappella group performs for alumni and friends.

    Cadence a cappella group performs for alumni and friends.

    Barry Mccarty AAR of the Year Award – Gregory Slonaker ’79
    Recognizes an individual who, during the past year, has represented the College through the AAR program with outstanding dedication, reliability, and sensitivity. He or she has creatively and effectively introduced the “Spirit of Lafayette” to prospective students, their parents, and others interested in the College. Named after Barry McCarty, former dean of enrollment services.

  • AAR Geographic Outreach Award – Louise Seto Coles ’81
    Recognizes an AAR whose dedication and effectiveness during a period of a year or more has significantly improved Lafayette’s image and student-recruitment potential in an area outside the College’s traditional tri-state area.
  • William G. Wilson Distinguished Service Award – Paige MacDonald-Matthes ’89
    This is the highest honor that can be bestowed for service to Lafayette through the AAR program. The recipient will have served with sustained distinction, effectively performing all expected duties during a period of several years or more. In addition, he or she will have demonstrated initiative and creativity, and will have inspired others through leadership and example.
Categorized in: Alumni, Connected Communities, News and Features