Notice of Online Archive

  • This page is no longer being updated and remains online for informational and historical purposes only. The information is accurate as of the last page update.

    For questions about page contents, contact the Communications Division.

The Alumni Association honored more than 30 alumni, students, and faculty for career achievement and outstanding volunteer service to the College in alumni engagement, career services, fundraising, and student recruitment at the association’s annual awards ceremony Oct. 29.

Alumni Association Awards and their recipients include:

  • Bell Award – J. Peter Simon ’75
    Presented to an alumna or alumnus who has given distinguished service to the College or the association. The award was named for Joseph E. Bell ’28 upon his retirement as Alumni Association secretary in 1968.
  • George Washington Kidd Class of 1836 Award – Despina Karabots McNulty ’81
    Presented to alumni who have earned distinction in their careers. The award was named after the College’s first graduate.
  • Mayfield Award – Alex Karapetian ’04
    Presented to a member or members of one of the 15 latest classes in recognition of outstanding service to the College or Alumni Association. Named for Clifton P. Mayfield 1909.
  • Woodring Service Award – Virginia Logan ’81
    Recognizes the achievements of a long-term Alumni Association volunteer whose service is both dedicated and effective. Named for George T. Woodring 1919.
  • Woodring Volunteer of the Year Award – Michael McClintock ’71
    Recognizes an Alumni Association volunteer for outstanding leadership during the previous year.
  • Greenip Award – Ian Stone ’10
    Recognizes a currently active alumni chapter officer based on voluntary service achievements “over and above” his or her faithfully carrying out of regular officer assignments. It honors the memory of William E. Greenip ’44, former Alumni Association Secretary.
  • Chapter of the Year Award – Chicago
    Recognizes an alumni chapter for providing quality and diverse events while cultivating the chapter’s leadership and promoting area alumni participation.
  • Chapter Event Chairperson of the Year Award – James Benjamin ’84
    Recognizes an individual that exudes leadership in the planning and execution of chapter events. He or she echoes a chapter’s commitment to promote a diverse array of events for alumni, parents, and friends of the College.
  • Chapter Support Person of the Year Award – Matthew Pagano ’09
    Recognizes an individual who continually strives to promote alumni activity and interaction within his or her chapter.
  • Hughes Correspondent Award – Marshall Gluck ’65
    Recognizes an effective writer who exercises class leadership through the column, and unifies classmates in support of the College. Named for Wilson E. Hughes ’38.
  • Huhn Correspondent Award – Paul Sommers ’09
    Recognizes a correspondent who actively seeks out and includes in the column many classmates from diverse regions and walks of life. Named for Elmer E. Huhn ’24.
  • Wildstein Correspondent Award – Laura Isken Doyle ’81
    Recognizes a long-time correspondent who is faithful and prompt in submitting positive, upbeat columns. Named for Bernard S. Wildstein ’35.
  • AA Student Volunteer Service Award – Claudia Rodriguez-McGill ’17
    Recognizes a current student who, through his or her volunteer efforts in the broader community beyond the College, has demonstrated compassion, energy, and ingenuity in serving others.
  • Alumni Association Special Commendation — Ellen Poriles Weiler ’83, Rachel Hollander ’11
    Presented to a member or members of the Lafayette Community illustrating loyal commitment in supporting the goals of the College and Alumni Association.
  • Daniel L. Golden ’34 Faculty Service Award – Prof. David Sunderlin
    Recognizes faculty members for distinguished volunteer service to Lafayette through the Alumni Association and its organized alumni activities.

Career Services awards and their recipients include:

  • Lois and Neil Gagnon Award – Janet Acculto O’Brien ’94, Brandon Troup ’95
    Recognizes distinguished service to Career Services.
  • Externship Commitment Awards – John Bellucci ’86, Barry Bregman ’77, Jordan Brugg ’03, Martha Heinze ’86, John Pallotta III ’84
    Recognizes externship hosts with 10 years of participation.

Annual Fund awards and their recipients:

  • Joseph T. Losee 1894 Award – Class of 1971: Paul Dimmick ’71
    Presented to the reunion-year class achieving the highest Lafayette College Fund total.
  • Lafayette College Fund Award – Class of 1979: Laurie Samet ’79
    Honors the non-reunion class achieving the highest Lafayette College Fund total.
  • Julius Naab 1919 Award – Class of 1956: Cornelius Alexander IV ’56
    For the 50-Plus Club class with the highest rate of participation.
  • Ernest G. Smith 1894 Award – Class of 1966: James Quin ’66
    Honors the class achieving the highest percentage of participation from the 11th through the 50th alumni class.
  • Robert Whitmer 1885 Award – Class of 2011: Amanda Whitbred ’11, Christina Hunt ’11
    For the young alumni class achieving the highest percentage of participation.

Alumni Admissions Representative awards and their recipients:

  • New AAR of the Year Award – Ashley Tolomer ’08
    Recognizes a first-year AAR who has, during that initial period, served the College with extraordinary enthusiasm, commitment, and skill.
  • Barry McCarty AAR of the Year Award – Joseph Wroblewski ’91
    Recognizes an individual who, during the past year, has represented the College through the AAR program with outstanding dedication, reliability, and sensitivity. He or she has creatively and effectively introduced the “Spirit of Lafayette” to prospective students, their parents, and others interested in the College. Named after Barry McCarty, former dean of enrollment services.
  • AAR Geographic Outreach Award – Michael Louderback ’03
    Recognizes an AAR whose dedication and effectiveness during a period of a year or more has significantly improved Lafayette’s image and student-recruitment potential in an area outside the College’s traditional tri-state area.
  • William G. Wilson Distinguished Service Award – James McLaughlin ’76
    This is the highest honor that can be bestowed for service to Lafayette through the AAR program. The recipient will have served with sustained distinction, effectively performing all expected duties during a period of several years or more. In addition, he or she will have demonstrated initiative and creativity, and will have inspired others through leadership and example.
Categorized in: Alumni, News and Features